music and inspiration

Thanks to a recent comment on my blog (thanks Selena!) I’m inspired to write about the role music plays in my writing.

Each of my projects have their own soundtrack that I often listen to while writing, as well as a particular “theme song”. While writing/revising The Blood Confession I frequently listened to Mozart’s Requiem, Bjork’s greatest hits, the soundtrack to Bram Stoker’s Dracula (though I really didn’t like the movie, aside from the costumes), and assorted Tori Amos. Bjork’s song “Isobel” became my “I’ve finished writing for the day and happy and listening to music while saving my documents” song. Though as far as theme songs go, I would have to give it to the Rolling Stone’s “Sympathy for the Devil”.

For this latest book I’ve listened to a lot of Mediaeval Baebes, Mozart, and Tori. The soundtrack to the BBC miniseries “The Virgin Queen” (which features the Mediaeval Baebes) has played a prominent role in my revisions. I’ve also listened extensively to a CD called “All Goodly Sports” of music purportedly composed by King Henry VIII–that should give you hint about the subject matter of my second book.

Music is not only inspiring, but it’s a wonderful “trigger” for the brain. I don’t always feel like writing when I have the time to do so, which makes music that can trigger inspiration invaluable. What music sparks inspiration for you? I would love to hear about it.

Published in: on March 15, 2008 at 3:30 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2008/03/15/music-and-inspiration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, thats awesome, i listened to the stones alot while reading it!! that song fits perfect:D

  2. Your welcome 🙂

    All genre of music sparks inspiration for me. It really is just a matter of connecting it to what you are doing. That is how it is for me. I don’t have a favorite. Anything that causes me to think is good music. Classical is awesome too! It helps me think clearer.

    I don’t know much about Medieval Baebes, etc but I will try to find out more. Then, I would know about the subject of your second book.


Leave a Reply

