my library

I learned today that the hours and staff at our beloved branch library are being severely cut. They will only be open two days a week, and only one evening. Libraries are important, sacred places to me, and I only hope that other people feel the same. I LOVE buying books for my own collection, but I read a lot of stuff – especially when I’m researching a new book – and libraries grant me access to titles that I can’t always find online, not even on Amazon. While bookstores may only carry the most recent or best selling titles, libraries can have huge, expanded collections, where browsing can lead you to something you would never find in a store.

So go and visit your library. Take out a book or two, or more. Show libraries some love.

Published in: on May 31, 2008 at 9:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2008/05/31/my-library/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

