Shangri LA, I miss you already…

I’m back from LA! I don’t really know how to begin to describe this trip. How about this: it was extremely exhausting. My friend Lauren (fellow young adult author) and I went to the SCBWI conference. We had never been before and figured it was worth checking out, and besides I was sorely overdue for a visit to her home in LA.

And let me tell you, it was lovely. We ate sushi and stayed up late talking. We got up early and talked while getting ready and acted generally girlie (“what should I wear?”) which felt very indulgent and satisfying to me. We went grocery shopping and I had the peculiar experience of shopping with someone who is, perhaps, a bit too much like myself; I think we spent a full 15 minutes in the granola aisle, debating which kind of trek mix to purchase.

The conference days were very long, filled with sessions about the different publishing houses, panels with agents and editors, and some sessions on craft. I think my favorite presenter was Bruce Coville, author of about a gazillion children’s books. He signed my book, The Monster Ring, and I smiled at him like a big dork the whole time. I also got to see my current editor and my previous editor, which was fantastic!

In spite of long conference days, Lauren and I still managed to stay up late to chat, watch Project Runway, eat salad and greek yogurt and relax with her cat, Tramp. And that was the best part of a wonderful trip:)

Published in: on August 7, 2008 at 4:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2008/08/07/shangri-la-i-miss-you-already/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

