Banned books and Halloween book list

Last week was banned books week, and I was ruminating about how much it scares me that there are people trying to take certain books off of shelves, people who not only deem a book inappropriate for their child but decide that no one else’s kid should have access to it either. And then I thought…MY book could TOTALLY be banned. Occult blood rituals? Sadistic murder? Sex with the devil? Holy moly! I’m surprised that the book banners have passed my book by. Honestly, I almost feel a little bit overlooked. I suppose it’s all about falling into the wrong hands (or right hands, depending on how you look at it).

In other news, it is officially October which has me all kinds of excited about Halloween, the wearing of costumes, the eating of Reese’s peanut butter cups, and – best of all – the reading of spooky books. Here are a few of my favorites for this time of year:

* Dracula by Bram Stoker – Have I blogged yet about my adoration of Mina Harker, one of the most fascinating and strongest female characters in literature? She is my hero.

* The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson – Such lovely writing, and so quietly spooky. And the ending – oh, oh my.

* Coraline by Neil Gaiman – I never thought it possible to be frightened by a spool of thread, a needle, and two shiny black buttons. I was so, so wrong.

I will continue this list in future blog posts. And I also plan to blog more about Halloween:)

Published in: on October 8, 2008 at 2:06 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2008/10/08/banned-books-and-halloween-book-list/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Oh goodness.
    I share the sentiment about Neil Gaiman’s Coraline. I love that book but it frightens me near to death every time I read it.

    😀


Leave a Reply

