Halloween!

This Friday I will be answering my front door and offering up candy to the ghouls and goblins who see fit to visit me. I loved trick or treating as a kid, of course: dressing up like a gypsy or a princess or the bride of frankenstein and scurrying around the neighborhood, knocking on a stranger’s door and demanding candy. What could be better? When you’re a kid you don’t think about how inherently strange this tradition is…but that is why it’s fun to be a kid. You don’t question these things.

One year we had a pre-trick or treat party at our house, complete with that game where you eat donuts tied to the ceiling with string, and this very cool recipe that my mother found where you mix all kinds of stuff up with baking soda in a tall glass and it creates a volcanic effect – like something from an evil scientist’s laboratory. All of my friends had plastic pumpkin heads to collect their night’s supply of candy and I was the last one to carry the old pillowcase around…that ended the year my pillowcase had a hole in it, leaking candy all along the sidewalk. Boo!

My favorite house to visit was on our street: a withered woman answered the door with a cigarette hanging out of her mouth, a precarious amount of ash hovering over the box of Hostess Cupcakes. In the child’s heirarchy of Halloween candy, a Hostess Cupcake was hitting the Jackpot.

And aside from candy, there are such delightful books and movies to indulge in! Should I re-read one of my spooky favorites: Dracula, The Silver Kiss, or Coraline? Maybe spend the night roasting marshmallows in the fireplace and reading Edgar Allan Poe aloud? The options are chilling and endless.

Published in: on October 28, 2008 at 1:44 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2008/10/28/halloween/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Oh tough call between Coraline and Poe…. Those are always my ‘go to’ things if I’m feeling like being frightened out of my socks.

    Sadly I am in a university residence, and there will be no trick-or-treating. Only a stack of homework, papers and assignments to whittle into completion.


Leave a Reply

