Un-resolutions

I’m not a fan of new year’s resolutions. I rarely achieve what I’ve resolved in that haze of post-holiday self-reflection, fueled by egg nog and rumballs. Yes, the new year is an exciting fresh and clean slate on which to play out our dreams of our more perfect selves…but it’s also another opportunity to eat more rumballs, or indulge in laziness or any other vice that makes us happy. And is any resolution going to truly convince us otherwise?

Anyhow, before I completely undermine all of your well-meaning and wonderful resolutions (really, best of luck, you can do it!!) I suppose I’ll share a few reading-resolutions of my own. Reading is something I do anyway, so a reading-resolution doesn’t strike me as a terrible idea. I’ve been trying to read books that I feel embarrassed for not having read. Last year I read Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby, which somehow didn’t impress me when I was assigned to read it in high school–it wasn’t Edgar Allan Poe, you see…But I can cross it off my guilty list now since I’ve read it and ENJOYED it a great deal. I also read To Kill a Mockingbird, which was never assigned to me to read in school (luckily, because I generally disliked books that were assigned to me–I’m horrible, I admit!). This book was so wonderful and beautiful that it made me cry, profusely, on the bus. Embarrassing. Then I watched the movie with my husband and I thought I might hyperventilate with all of my blubbering, because it brought the book back to me. I generally don’t enjoy a good cry-fest as some do, but this book deserved my tears as it was just so beautifully written.

So in 2009…maybe I should read a classic that I’ve been meaning to read for years: The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins? She, by H. Rider Haggard? (Let’s take a moment to appreciate how great that name is: H. Rider Haggard. You’d think I would have read the book already, with an author name like that.) If any of you have any suggestions to add to my list, please let me know. While I’m at it I really should read The Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straub–it’s not my type of book really, but it’s one that my Dad recommended to me, and as he has been gone for more than ten years now the very least that I can do is catch up on all the books he told me to read. He was right about Poe, after all.

Aside from reading, maybe we should all resolve to do stuff in the new year that we know that we enjoy (as long as it’s healthy for mind and body, yes, of course) so that we’ll all be happy people. I resolve to listen frequently to David Bowie, which I already do very often. I also resolve to rub the dog’s belly, and drink green tea with honey, and watch movies that I love and read good books. I’ve accomplished some of these things in the new year already. Great success!

Published in: on January 4, 2009 at 7:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/01/04/un-resolutions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

