what I’ve been up to

People ask me if I’ve been working on my next book, so I avoid the question by saying that I’ve been working on a lot of publicity-stuff. Which is true. But then when asked “what are you doing to publicize your book?” I stare blankly at a fixed point and avoid that question, too.

But here is what I am doing, in case you are interested in the glamorous life of a young adult novelist. I’m sending postcards for the new book to friends, family, and local libraries and bookstores. I’ve sent out some ARCs (Advanced Reader Copies) of my book to bloggers and reviewers who may post reviews before the book’s release. The other week I created a widget for my book that links to my website and to my book trailer and now I just have to figure out how to add it to my blog. I’m trying to connect with people through facebook and other social networking sites, contacting people I know and through them people they know – ideally reaching people who like historical fiction and may be interested in the book. I’ve also done interviews that will be posted on blogs, and I’ve scheduled a couple readings at local libraries¬†for when the novel is released. I’m hoping to schedule a few more, along with some signings at local bookstores.

I know there is more that I could be doing – there is always, always more – but this is a start.

Published in: on January 25, 2009 at 5:46 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/01/25/what-ive-been-up-to/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. i cannot wait until your next book comes out! your book was amazing.


Leave a Reply

