one day one day one more little day

Today a very nice woman came to the house and interviewed me for the Brockton Enterprise. I think it went well (once the dog settled down) though I feel a little cringe-y about the final product. But that’s nothing unusual.

I scurried around the house yesterday making sure the family room/kitchen area was tidyish as I figured that’s where we would be sitting, and of course that meant moving stuff (piles of mail, drying sweaters, etc.) into the office. And what did she ask first? To see my office. She didn’t take any photos but she did take notes. Notes! Can you imagine someone taking notes on your squalor as you look on, helpless? I like to consider myself a very tidy person trapped in the body of a slob, you see. And the office NEVER looks as bad as it did today, the day that a reporter came to look at it and take notes for an article about me. You see the irony here, I’m sure. It’s not a very big room to begin with, but between the two desks (one is Tom’s) and the guitars and the drying sweaters and the new telescope…yeah, you get the picture.

So, you may be wondering, aside from welcoming the media to peruse her untidy work area, what does a writer do the day before her book’s release? Hum hum hum, I’m trying to figure that out myself. I went to the post office and mailed a bunch of books to potential reviewers–Dutton sent me a box of books (“author copies”) for this very purpose. Then I came back here and tidied the office a bit (a little late for that, of course). And now I’m just trying to think of anything I’m forgetting before the launch party tomorrow.

Having a book come out is stressful and scary, because you just don’t know how people will react to it and you can’t make any excuses for it–it is what it is and it has to stand all on it’s own. No chronic headaches this time, so that’s a plus. I’ve been doing all I can to promote the book before the release, which makes me feel useful. I’m really excited to talk about this book…I just hope I can remember all of those interesting things I wanted to say when someone asks a question.

That said, any book-related event stresses me out. I’ll have to stand up in front of people tomorrow and, you know, say stuff. It even occurred to me today that I should iron my skirt. Me. Ironing. This is crazy-talk, let me tell you. I’m hoping some obliging shutterbugs will snap photos for me to share with all of you, and I can let you know how it all went. Wish me luck!

Published in: on March 18, 2009 at 5:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/03/18/one-day-one-day-one-more-little-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

