reading at the Hudson Public Library tomorrow (Saturday)

I’ll be at the Hudson Public Library tomorrow at 2 p.m., talking about the book and about writing and publishing in general. I’m hoping I’ll get some Tudor fanatics and/or some writers with questions about the whole process. I love talking to writers about my adventures in book-writing. I try to think of what I wanted to hear before I was published, what would have helped inspire me to stick with it.

In the meantime, I’ve been doing a lot of reading. I’ve said goodbye to the lovely Katsa (of Graceling) and now I’ve already fallen for Katniss (of The Hunger Games). I also received an embarrassment of riches thanks to Interlibrary loan: I had three books (including The Red Queen’s Daughter which was NOT on my posted reading list) and the final season of Deadwood waiting for us. We haven’t finished watching season 4 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer yet (oh yes, I am a BIG Buffy fan) but we’re more than halfway through. I’m enjoying it even more the second time around!

Back to books: I’m actually kind of a slow reader. If the book is really well-written then I’ll go back and reread passages over and over again. Most recently I did this with Laura Amy Schlitz’s A Drowned Maiden’s Hair – her descriptions of Maud enjoying her first carousel ride were just so utterly vivid and beautiful. I really dwell in a book as I read it, I can’t tear through them. This is troubling at times since there are so many books out there to read…but I love language so much that I can’t help but dwell on it.

In the meantime, I’m having moments of feeling a little itchy, wanting to get back to writing. I’ve been scribbling in my “insufferable little notebook” (Tom’s affectionate term for the latest in my endless array of notebooks) at odd moments during the day, or during my commute. Sometimes I put it on my bedside table and I have to sit up late at night and scribble something down. Goodness knows what all of this scribbling will come to. I will keep you posted.

Published in: on May 8, 2009 at 4:07 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/05/08/reading-at-the-hudson-public-library-tomorrow-saturday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m on season 4 of Buffy too, right now, this is a funny coincidence. I’m on disc 5. ^_^
    Have fun with your scribbling!


Leave a Reply

