what I do when I’m not writing

At present I am not a “write at least 30 minute a day” type of writer. I say that with a caveat because something that doesn’t work for me now may prove useful down the road. Writing is fluid, I think, and the practice of it is subject to change.

So what do I do if I’m not writing at the moment (aside from fretting about my current work-in-progress, as I’ve already mentioned)? I’ve been reading. Scribbling in my little red notebook. Then reading some more. This morning on the train I finished M.T. Anderson’s Feed – brilliant. Stark, funny, sad, overall quite terrifying, and again, brilliant. But I forgot to bring Skellig, the next book in the qeue with me, so this necessitated another trip to the Simmons library…where I got three more books. It’s a problem, I know. I started reading one that I borrowed last week: Joan Aiken’s The Wolves of Willoughby Chase. It’s one of those books that I knew I needed to read after reading the first sentence (is this familiar to my readers out there?). I’m not far in but I just love it so far – so utterly sweet in an old-fashioned sort of way, and yet simultaneously funny and quite frightening. How can I not love a book that includes a bit of dialog like this?:

“We had quite a pleasant journey. A wolf jumped into our compartment last night, but Mr. Grimshaw – that gentleman – stabbed it to death and we moved into another compartment.”

Yes, that’s Sylvia, the young, intrepid traveler. I had heard of this book before, but also there is a nice drawing of a snarly wolf on the cover and that of course intrigued me. I love wolves. I had a photo of a wolf on the wall of my bedroom as a teenager, as it figured prominently into that epic vampire poem I was writing at the time (don’t laugh). Early inspiration for Erzebet’s companion, Kyzoni? Certainly. See, all was not for naught with that vampire epic, after all!

wolf photo

Published in: on May 28, 2009 at 12:42 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/what-i-do-when-im-not-writing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. every year I get two calendars to hang in my bedroom:
    wolves, and Marilyn Monroe.

    • I love that combo! As for Marilyn, “How to Marry a Millionaire” is one of my favorites. She looks absurdly gorgeous but is not above taking off her cat’s eye specs and walking into walls. Awesome.

      :)Alisa


Leave a Reply

