the wedding of King Henry VIII and Catherine of Aragon

Today is the wedding anniversary of King Henry VIII to Catherine of Aragon – 500 years ago, King Henry’s illustrious (not to mention deadly) marital career began. It seemed an auspicious enough beginning. Poor Catherine of Aragon. I read some quote about how the people of England were so in love with her, she was simply everything they could want in a Princess.

I would LOVE to be able to go back to England this month, as there having all sorts of celebrations for the historically-minded (read: dorky) among us, all in celebration of the 500 year anniversary of King Henry VIII’s ascension to the throne. A coin is even being minted in honor of the milestone – how can I get my hands on one of these? http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8089561.stm

If you’re in a Henry-esque mood, I learned about these podcasts posted on the British Library website. I’m already a big fan of Henry’s music so this stuff is definitely my cup of unwatered wine, if you know what I mean: http://www.bl.uk/whatson/podcasts/exhibition/henry/index.html

And while I’m at it, I wanted to share with you this great review by blogger Dominique on The Book Vault blog:
http://the-book-vault.blogspot.com/2009/06/kings-rose-by-alisa-m-libby.html. I love her assessment of Catherine’s sad tale:

“Sometimes I feel authors are rather harsh on Catherine: although her actions were hardly commendable, most people forget she was just a foolish girl thrown at the king by her greedy family that cared more about increasing their own power than her safety.”

Well said, Dominique, and thank you for the wonderful review. This made me particularly pleased, especially in light of Miss Howard’s portrayal on The Tudors, which was quite over-the-top as far as trampy goes. I fear I can’t say much more as I want to keep this blog at least PG-13…though I do foresee a post about sex in YA literature in the near future! (Which rest assured will also be PG-13).

Published in: on June 11, 2009 at 10:36 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/06/11/the-wedding-of-king-henry-viii-and-catherine-of-aragon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for mentioning our Henry VIII podcasts, Alisa! We’ll be putting up new ones regularly until the exhibition ends in September. Hope you enjoy them.

    Rob Ainsley
    Web team, British Library

  2. It is such a shame that Henry VIII went from being the optimistic, “virtuous prince” at the start of his reign to the tyrannical monster of his later years. The podcasts from the British Library are excellent and they are also available for download at iTunes.


Leave a Reply

