hobbits…my kind of people

First off, reviews!

Tanzanite’s Shelf and Stuff (this blog is historical fiction heaven): http://shelfandstuff.blogspot.com/2009/06/kings-rose-by-alisa-libby.html

And a great review on Insert Book Title Here: http://insertbooktitle.blogspot.com/2009/06/kings-rose-by-alisa-libby.html

In other news, I’m still working on my reading list, which seems to be expanding by the second. I finished The Hobbit this week. It occurs to me that I have my own hobbit-like tendencies: I always like to know where my next meal is coming from (and that it will be delicious) and the thought of a nice chair by a nice fire and tea at 4 o’clock is…well, I can’t really ask for much more than that. On the other side, I do like to get out of the hobbit-hole on an adventure now and then. Though I still like to know when that next meal will be.

And now, for some dismal news. Our little branch library is closing – hopefully just for the summer, but it all seems very unclear. Don’t get me wrong, the main branch is positively lovely and I have nothing against it whatsoever, it’s just that…I LOVE OUR BRANCH LIBRARY. When we first drove up to our house and I saw that the library was so close, Tom said “this house just got cuter for you, didn’t it?” He was right. Libraries are a wonderful resource for the community. I know that the economy has hit libraries hard, but in an economy like this libraries are even more valuable. So please go and visit your local library this weekend. Take out lots of books. Smile at your librarian. Get thee to it.

Published in: on June 19, 2009 at 8:07 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/06/19/hobbits-my-kind-of-people/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So sorry to hear your branch library’s closing!
    I love my branch library too. ^_^ The librarians know me by name, so I never have to even bring in my card, and if I can’t make it over there to pick up something on hold, they’ll keep it extra time for me. They’re the best.
    They actually think I’ve helped raise their circulation numbers over the years because I request so many books.
    Hope yours re-opens in the fall!!!
    -Megan

  2. I just found your blog – thanks for mentioning mine and I”m glad you like it! Sad news about your local library though. It’s been many years since I read The Hobbit, but I remember loving it. I read the Lord of the Rings trilogy right after the last movie came out. I really should go back and read them again sometime, including The Hobbit.

    Daphne (a/k/a Tanzanite)


Leave a Reply

