Happy birthday, Queen Elizabeth I

I was reminded by a fellow tudor fanatic that today is the birthday of Queen Elizabeth I. I would like to read more about Elizabeth. My favorite historical novelist, Margaret George, is writing a novel about the later part of her reign, which I expect will be wonderful. Elizabeth was certainly her father’s daughter in many ways – they both knew how to use their appearance to inspire the awe and devotion of the masses. Maybe she was her mother’s daughter too, in more subtle ways – fiercely intelligent and willing to use her feminine wiles as she saw fit, flirting with men and tempting them with her immense power to win their loyalty. Personally I doubt she ever intended to marry anyone, but the merest promise of marriage to the queen was valuable, and the Queen used that power to her advantage. She needed no king to rule over her – perhaps having learned a lesson from her pitiable sister, Mary.

I highly recommend The Virgin Queen, a BBC miniseries about Elizabeth; it really inspired me when I was writing The King’s Rose.

Elizabeth_I_in_coronation_robes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of which – I’ve got another terrific blog review! The reviewer mentions that she liked Catherine’s descent into madness, which is just so good for me to hear:
http://scarpettajunkie.wordpress.com/2009/09/06/book-review-the-kings-rose/

Published in: on September 7, 2009 at 3:43 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/09/07/happy-birthday-queen-elizabeth-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve seen the BBC show you are talking about and it is very good. I think the gal they have playing Elizabeth does a great job.

    The best book I have read about Elizabeth is Legacy by Susan Kay. It is currently out of print (although used copies can be found online) and I’ve heard that it is supposed to be republished next year (by Sourcebooks I think).

    • Yes, Anne-Marie Duff plays a wonderful Elizabeth: powerful and intelligent but also innocent in some ways, which I really loved.

      I’ll definitely check out Legacy – and I hope you read Margaret George. Her book about King Henry is simply marvelous.

      Thank you for commenting!
      Alisa


Leave a Reply

