Nothing Like You by Lauren Strasnick – now released!

I’ve mentioned my friend Lauren to you before – it’s time you met her, officially, as a published author. Her debut is a young adult novel, Nothing Like You, published by Simon Pulse. I urge you to check this book out, and not simply because Lauren is one of my oldest and dearest friends, but because it is a beautifully written and crafted novel.

nothing like you book coverLauren and I first met in writing class at Emerson College taught by Prof. Stuart Kelban, one of my favorite writing profs. (This was also where I met my friend Lesley Jenike, whose second volume of poetry, Ghost of Fashion, has been published.) Lauren and I didn’t really become friends in class, though we did admire each other’s writing. The following year we were living in the Netherlands in Emerson’s abroad program. And – poof – we were kindred spirits, heading to Prague together for a long weekend. Since then we’ve connected and understood each other not only as friends, but as writers.

me and Lauren in ItalyWriting is a solitary endeavor, so it means a lot to me to have Lauren in my life – someone who not only listens, but understands my writing woes. We writers – not to mention friends – need to stick together. I’m so glad that we have. Lauren lives in L.A., but we still communicate by email frequently every week. Now she’s got her own book on the shelf and I couldn’t be more proud. Congratulations, darling!

For more information about Lauren’s book, visit www.laurenstrasnick.com.

Published in: on October 21, 2009 at 12:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/10/21/nothing-like-you-by-lauren-strasnick-now-released/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

