Rocking with Nano…but how do I keep it up?

This has happened before: I get all jazzed about a project. I write up my outline (generally of just the first half of the book). Then I start turning out pages, and while it’s not that what I’m creating is golden, at least I’m creating something to work with. I’m being productive.

And then and then and then…I hit a wall. A stone wall, to be exact, void of any ivy that might cushion the blow.

I fear I’m hurtling toward that very wall with my Nano book. Why? Because I’m cynical. You need a better reason? Because I’m running out of outline and I have to figure out what happens next and next and next. I have to figure out how this draft will end. And I think I still have to figure out the middle part, too.

Until then, I’ll try to keep writing. That’s all that I can do. And maybe I should trust the Nano way this time and forge ahead even when I don’t know where I’m going. I’m always very concerned about knowing what’s ahead, where the whole journey will end. Maybe this time I have to trust that it will end somewhere – hopefully somewhere around 50,000 words.

Nanowrimo poster

Published in: on November 8, 2009 at 1:28 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/rocking-with-nano-but-how-do-i-keep-it-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

