wolves

Yesterday my sister and I visited Wolf Hollow in Ipswich, Mass. It’s a wolf sanctuary for wolves living in captivity. They have four wolves and one wolf-dog hybrid. This gray wolf reminded me a bit of Kyzoni…though Weeble had a surprisingly sweet face.

Weeble wolf closeup

It seems like wolves have had a bad rap for the past few hundreds years – the big bad wolf, witch’s familiars, that sort of thing – and it hasn’t done wonders for wolf populations. Maybe it’s for the best that I didn’t visit real wolves while writing The Blood Confession, as I may have felt guilty about contributing more bad press. You know, Kyzoni being connected to the devil and all.

Nina wolf

Published in: on November 16, 2009 at 5:07 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/11/16/wolves/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. They’re so pretty! Did you get to hear any of them howl by any chance?

    • Weeble did howl for us! He tilted his head back and everything, in classic wolf pose. It was very impressive, but the howl sounded a bit mournful. Like maybe he wanted us all to go home.

  2. I’m so jealous! I’ve been wanting to go there for years, ever since my sister got to go on a school trip when I was little!


Leave a Reply

