50,039

Yay! 50,039 words of a first draft. Yay, again!

Tonight I was going through my draft and looking for places to add a word here or there, or maybe add a paragraph or two. Those last 500 words were killer. It didn’t help that I kept checking my word count. I know it sounds silly, but having that word count goal was so motivating that reaching it was really important to me.

When I finally checked my word count and saw that I had passed my goal, I gasped with excitement. Hooray!! I immediately grabbed my phone to text Tom. Then I paused: I saved my draft to my computer and to my flashdrive. Then I texted Tom.

When I looked back to my draft, my computer was frozen.

Luckily, crisis was averted. Let this be a lesson to us all – keep up your word counts, and get thee a flash drive! And always pause to save before you celebrate your accomplishments.

Published in: on November 20, 2009 at 2:12 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/11/20/50039/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Wahooo!!!


Leave a Reply

