library joy

So if you’re like me you have a book problem. I’m greedy about books, not only reading them and buying them and taking them out from the library but also just hunting for them and thinking about what else I want to read in a way that many would deem obsessive. Alas, recently I went on an Interlibrary loan binge where I just kept coming across great books I wanted to read and I kept ordering them willy nilly through interlibrary loan and now – WHAM! – they’ve all arrived at the same time, at two different libraries. Yes, I know this probably makes me pretty irritating to ILL Librarians, and I apologize profusely, but it’s just that I love the work that you do. I can’t buy every single book I read or I wouldn’t have money to eat; and I can’t let anything curb my reading habits, no no (or my eating habits for that matter, as I enjoy that, too). Here’s a glimpse into my bibliophile-gluttony:

The Broken Citadel by Joyce Ballou Gregorian (I’m reading this now and it’s wonderful. I highly recommend it for fans of Madeline L’Engle)
Codex by Lev Grossman
Lucia, Lucia by Adriana Trigiani
The Talisman by Peter Straub and Stephen King
Monsterumologist by Richard Yancey

There are others of course, but these are at the top of the teetering pile. Here’s hoping I can get some extensions – especially considering I’m trying to write this new draft.

In other library news, I was thrilled to see that my branch library has re-opened! The hours are limited but I was just so happy to walk into that warm, wonderful little library again. I had to stop myself from visiting the stacks.

Published in: on December 2, 2009 at 1:05 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/12/02/library-joy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think this is one reason we’re friends, Alisa, because we’re both total book gluttons. My library actually closed for a little bit because they’re moving back to the main building, so I haven’t been able to check anything out. It’s been kind of odd to have so few books kicking around the house. But I’m sure I’ll load up again the moment the library reopens.

  2. ILL request binges are both terrible and incredibly satisfying at the same time. I became quite a master of them over the last few years, and my branch librarians loved it because it boosted their circulation numbers, which gave them more money when the budget was looked over. I told them I was glad to help.


Leave a Reply

