all work and no play makes alisa a dull girl

It’s only Tuesday of my revising week, and I’ve spent much of today “unwriting”: going over my draft and marking all the sections that are unecessary, repetitive, irritating, or just plain horrible. By the time I make all of these edits my 50,000 word manuscript will be approximately twelve pages long.

Rest assured, there are low moments in the writing of every book, where I turn to my manuscript and say “seriously, why do you suck so badly?” Natural, yes, but still cranky-making. Plus, I’ve been left alone with an obscene amount of sweets in the kitchen: mint oreos covered in chocolate, cookies covered in powdered sugar, coconut dipped in chocolate. All homemade stuff, kids. And it’s just me and the basset (who stinks pretty bad, and snores too) trying to resist the call of cookies. It’s all a little more Stephen King than I am happy to admit.

But all is progress, yes? Tomorrow I will do a lot of deleting, maybe some adding. I’ll let you know how things look when the dust settles.

Published in: on December 29, 2009 at 11:03 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2009/12/29/all-work-and-no-play-makes-alisa-a-dull-girl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

