Nano book, reading binge

I received feedback from my agent about my Nano book – Aces! I’m thrilled (and darn lucky, I know) to get feedback so quickly.

The consensus: I have a lot of work to do, but the book is worth working on. This is fantastic news. However, the funny: I fooled myself into believing that I had written a full draft. True, it was short. True, the ending was an open-ended cliffhanger. But since I didn’t know what would happen next, well, that must be the end of the book, right? Not true. What I have here is only half of a book. I still have to figure out the second half, and fix a whole lot of stuff. This is daunting, but I’m focusing on the positive: I’ve got something worth working on, all thanks to Nanowrimo!

As for my reading binge, I’ve finally picked up The Magicians by Lev Grossman and it is amazing. It’s been touted “Harry Potter for adults” – while the main character does go to magic school, it’s a very different take on the experience and truly wonderful in it’s own rite. 

I have to read as much as possible, watch some good movies and find some inspiring music – any recommendations are welcome! – before I return to my Nano book. I’ll keep you informed of my progress, of course.

Published in: on January 24, 2010 at 6:56 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/nano-book-reading-binge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I just finished the The Magicians. Finish it before we schedule lunch and we can talk about it. I have been dying to talk about this book with someone. I just started reading Fire by Kristin Cashore.


Leave a Reply

