more beasts, still glorious

I went back to the MFA today, yes I did. I wandered through the song exhibit again (“why, hello Mr. Bowie”) then strolled through Renaissance Italy, ancient Egypt, 16th century Chinese furniture and beautiful ceramics: “cups with boy, chickens, peonies,” “box with a beetle, scorpion, toad, centipede and snake,” “brush holder with auspicious symbols.” I found myself back in the kimono-lined Japanese luxuries room, and paid another visit to the Buddhist temple room, dimly lit walls patterned with the flame-like shadows of stone gods. Back down the hallway of glorious beasts, with that creamy blue lapis lazuli paint that I could get lost in.

I took a break in the echoing Sargent mural gallery, sat beneath a mural of a bow and arrow wielding centaur and ate an incredibly loud apple. I was reluctant to leave. Lacking inspiration can make me feel curiously empty, depleted. This helped bring balance.

Today I didn’t take my camera, but on Saturday this lion was kind enough to sit still for a portrait:

Published in: on February 2, 2010 at 1:26 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/02/02/more-beasts-still-glorious/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I am a mg/ya writer trying to get more into the “blogosphere” now that my young boys are a little older, and I’ve enjoyed reading your latest posts. I also love going to art museums for inspiration, and I wrote about it on my blog here last September.

    http://www.nicolemarieschreiber.com/Nicole_Marie_Schreiber/Blog/Entries/2009/9/24_Art_Museum_as_Muse.html

    Now I feel like going to the Portland Art Museum today!

    Thanks again for your posts.


Leave a Reply

