Guest post: World Building

Today’s guest post is by my friend and fellow writer, Anna Staniszewski. Anna writes young adult and middle grade fantasy and teaches writing and children’s literature at Simmons College. She was the Children’s Writer-in-Residence at the Boston Public Library in 2006, and she also maintains a great blog filled with advice on the craft of writing.

World-Building Through Character

One of the main things you hear about writing fantasy is that you have to spend a lot of time world-building, i.e. creating the rules and characteristics of your fictional world in order to make it vivid and believable. In her wonderful essay on world-building, Holly Lisle gives this important bit of advice: “Build as you go.” I would take this one step further and say: Build as you go, allowing your characters to lead you.

Here are some specific things to consider when thinking about how your characters’ problems and relationships intersect with the world of the story:

Restrictions
Who has the power in this world and where does your character stand in relation to that power? Is she a queen who is expected to lead her people into war to defend an ancient tradition? Or is he a peasant who isn’t allowed to enter the palace? Once you know where your characters fit into the social hierarchy, you’ll have a clearer sense of the restrictions and expectations that shape their lives.

Threats
What threatens your character’s security? What would put him in danger? Perhaps the peasant boy mentioned above has a sister who’s disappeared; he has no choice but to go into the palace looking for her. Where will he be taken after he’s caught? And what happens to law-breakers in this world?

Abilities
Does your character have any abilities or traits that give him an advantage in this world? What if the peasant boy can sometimes see flashes of the future? In one of these flashes, he sees the outcome of the queen’s impending war. He uses the information from his vision to buy his freedom and to find his sister.

Rules
When magic is introduced into fantasy with no clear rules about how it works, it can be frustrating to the reader. How come the boy’s vision warned him about the queen’s war but not about his sister’s disappearance? Perhaps the visions only come when he’s frightened, or the visions might be so vague that he can only guess at their meaning. Whatever the reason, it needs to be consistent throughout the story so that we understand when the magic works and when it doesn’t.

Consequences

Not only does magic have to adhere to strict rules, it needs to come with a price, e.g. every time the boy has a vision, it drains him of his strength. The greater the price for using magic, the more difficult the character’s struggle will be. What if the boy is the only person in the kingdom who has visions? Not only are there physical consequences for using the magic, there are also social ones. The boy knows others will use him for his ability so he’s kept it hidden, but when his sister disappears, he’s forced to divulge his secret.

Ultimately, world-building should give us a realistic sense of the story’s setting as well as help shape the story itself. In this unique world, the characters go up against obstacles that can only be found here. The story becomes a blend of character and place, so that the world helps to propel the action forward and to define what your characters must do in order to succeed.

Anna, thank you for a great post. The details about “consequences” were particularly relevatory for me, in thinking about revising my Nanowrimo project. Thank you!

Published in: on February 16, 2010 at 2:10 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/02/16/guest-post-world-building/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Alisa, thanks so much for having me! This was a fun post to write, and it made me think about one of my WIPs in a new way.

  2. Wow. I have always been intimidated by the idea of world-building. I am not necessarily a Fantasy writer, but I have a vivid imagination. I have some ‘out of this world’ ideas that have always weighed down the back of my mind. This post, and the essay, have really opened up a possibility for me.

    At first, the idea of using the characters to create the world sounding odd to me. Egg vs the chicken. But now, I am excited to take a stab…after I finish a few WiP’s that are ahead in the queue.

  3. Hm, this was really interesting! I have to do quite a bit of world building for my next WIP so I’m definitely bookmarking this!!

  4. This is exactly what I needed to read today–it helped me to rewrite a scene with more world-building, just the way I needed to! Thanks, Anna!

  5. I enjoyed your post, Anna. And Alisa, this is a nice blog. I found you through Casey McCormick and I’ve added yo to my Reader, so I’ll be back often.

  6. Jon, I’m glad you’ve been inspired to give world-building a try! It’s a great tool to use in any kind of writing, not just fantasy. Good luck!

    Thanks, Sara. I’m glad this was helpful. Happy world-building!

    You’re welcome, Beth. I love coming across posts that help me rewrite. Happy writing!

  7. Thanks Alisa and Anna! That’s an awesome picture–I love it. This post is very helpful to me as I revise my novel. It really makes me think about world building in specific terms. Especially the Consequences part.


Leave a Reply

