revising

This week I’m revising a work-in-progress, attempting to make the main character a little bit older and revamp the plot to make it more definitively young adult. There are a lot of plot issues I need to deal with, but in some ways it’s liberating to cut a lot of stuff and refresh the entire thing.

That said, I alternate between being sucked into the book vortex and dangling out of it feeling at a loss, not sure if I’m on the right path. But I’ve decided to forge ahead. The uncertainty is uncomfortable but familiar; it’s a place where most writers work from, I imagine. You can never truly know how something will turn out until you write it down. So that’s what I’m doing this week, writing it down. I have next week off as well, and then my writing retreat is over and I’m back to work. So I have to do as much as I can to avoid any unfortunate freak-outs over my lack of productivity. Never pleasant.

The drawing above is by Maria Sibylla Merian, in honor of the lovely Spring-like weather we’ve been having (http://hubpages.com/hub/Maria-Sibylla-Merian). But it is March so it’s bound to start raining again soon and the temperature will dip, so we ought to enjoy it while it’s here. Today Roxanne and I took a walk to a nearby cemetery, walking down pathways and pausing at the old stones (Greenfield Reid and his wife, Myerma). I hope the dead don’t mind a girl and her one-eyed basset visiting on a sunny day, reading their names aloud from the stones.

Published in: on March 20, 2010 at 3:18 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/03/20/revising-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. The book vortex, I love that. And I think you’re right that most writers work from uncertainty. I guess that’s part of the fun?


Leave a Reply

