musing on the muse

This weekend was the Muse & Marketplace conference at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel. My session on Saturday went well – low attendance (so many amazing sessions with incredible authors…) but my small audience made up for it with great, insightful questions. On Sunday I went to a bunch of craft-related sessions, which are always my favorites at conferences. The highlight of the weekend – aside from meeting great people and signing some books – was author Ann Hood’s session “The Joys of Revision”, in which she detailed her own revision techniques, which involved “going out on a date with your book.” Her enthusiasm was so wonderful and infectious, she managed to make revision sound like so much fun, even if it is a lot of work.

I also took a walk around town during a break on Saturday…and, low and behold, there was a carousel in Boston Common, which was unusual. I also strolled around Copley Square, past boys videotaping their friends doing skateboarding tricks, and found a group of teenagers huddled upstairs in a hidden nook in Trinity Church. Made me reminisce about my days lounging around an old castle in Holland. I wanted to yell up at them “I will probably write about you.”

I haven’t managed to read through the copious notes and new ideas generated at the conference…but I did manage to watch the first two episodes of the new season of The Tudors today: King Henry has introduced his newest wife, the young Catherine Howard, to court. And she’ll have fun fun fun…for a few more episodes.

Published in: on May 4, 2010 at 2:50 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/musing-on-the-muse/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

