TBF Live (next weekend)

One conference down, another to go! Next weekend I’m trekking up to Rochester, New York for the Teen Book Festival. I’m nervous but also super excited – it sounds like a fantastic festival and I’m really honored to have been invited. I just hope I don’t pass out from public speaking anxiety. That said, I’ve been meaning to do a round-up of books written by authors I’ll be meeting next weekend at the Festival.

This is the perfect time of year to read Bewitching Season – it’s Spring, people are just finishing up school and in need of something fun. This book is a gorgeous mix of Victorian lace and pearls, petticoats and princesses…and a little magic to add extra spice to the festivities. I’m a sucker for reading about ladies donning their gowns for “the season”, let alone girls who can mutter a few phrases and have magic shoot from their fingertips. Awesome.

I also read The Tear Collector by Patrick Jones – a fascinating re-imagining of the vampire legend. The main character is rather cold, distant, inhuman; a challenge to write and so interesting to read. I also read (finally) the first book in The Spiderwick Chronicles by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black – I love how tough and troubled these kids are; they seem like REAL KIDS.


Now I’m reading Evolution, Me, & Other Freaks of Nature by Robin Brande, and I am utterly in love with it. I like to read a wide range of stuff, but I’ll admit that contemporary realistic fiction isn’t my “go-to” type of book. But when the writing is this good and the story this engaging, I’ll read whatever the author gives me. And there are puppies, people! Delightful puppies! And a most appealing guy friend whom the main character is trying not to like in “that way”. LOVE IT.

Other stuff I’m looking forward to reading: A Natural History of Dragons & Unicorns by Paul and Karin Johnsgard and Charity Girl by Michael Lowenthal. And about a million other things. And by the end of the month, when all of the dust of this conferencing has settled and I have some time off from work – back to my manuscript! I honestly can’t imagine what I will find.

Published in: on May 8, 2010 at 6:41 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/05/08/tbf-live-next-weekend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I just discovered your blog and I heard you speak about The King’s Rose last year and you met with me in person to discuss writing. I just wanted to say that I adore your blog so far and thanks for the two recommendations – The Bewitching Season and The Tear Collector – your hooks were so appealing I went out and nabbed them from my local library. Thanks for the spring suggestions these will be a great diversion while I eat apples and job hunt!


Leave a Reply

