pages pages pages

Yesterday I sent some pages to my literary agent. It feels good to get the process moving, again. It’s impossible to look objectively at what I’ve accomplished during my time off, but I’m feeling cautiously optimistic. Now I’m thinking about my Nanowrimo project, which still needs some plot assistance!

Also chatted with one of my dearest friends, Lauren Strasnick, on the phone. We were talking about new projects, and how they can seem singular and fascinating in your head, only to disappoint when they land on the page. My Dad and I would talk about this all the time – he said that a project can be perfect in your head. Once you start to work on it you have a chance to mess it up, or discover it’s weaknesses. It’s like the difference between a real boyfriend and an imaginary one. The imaginary one may be perfectly wonderful…but still imaginary. Not much to work with, there. Same goes for “perfect” projects – don’t let the fear of failure psych you out. Getting something on the page take bravery, and it doesn’t need to be fantastic at the first go – that’s what revision is for. You have time to explore this idea, experiment, and see what happens.

Published in: on June 2, 2010 at 12:45 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/06/02/pages-pages-pages/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

