stuff for young writers

Thanks to all who commented on my recent good/bad/guilty pleasure literature rant! I’m sure the subject will come up again – I enjoy the debate about what makes something good quality vs. a guilty pleasure, though I think there is a big gray area between the two.

Following up on my recent “ten things I would tell my teen self” post, I thought I would offer up some more resources for teen writers. One thing that really helped me was to send my stuff out to contests and publications. First, it’s great to get into the habit of actually finishing a piece, preparing it for submission, and sending it off into the great wide world. Any good results I received after the fact were pretty stellar – I still remember the little school-based literary magazines that I was published in. You’ll remember it, too.

Here are some places to send stuff in. Visit the website to read submission guidelines and get a feel for the publication. Your local library may have back issues to read.

Cicada, literary magazine for writers 14-23. www.cicadamag.com

New Moon (for girls), this is a beautiful magazine and website for the younger teen/tween girl. Most of their content is written by girls. www.newmoon.com

Polyphony H.S., this magazine is published only once per year, and is therefore very competitive. But don’t let that stop you from sending in your writing. Also, read it – I’m sure the caliber of work here will really inspire. http://polyphonyhs.com/

Stone Soup, this one also has a younger age demographic, and the writing and production look really nice: www.stonesoup.com

Teen Ink, website and print magazine run by The Young Authors Foundation, Inc., for writers 13-19 years old. www.teenink.com

Teen Voices – I have to add some special props for Teen Voices, as I interned there in college and worked there after graduation. It’s a magazine by, for, and about teenage and young adult women – a really progressive, multi-cultural magazine filled with articles about teens facing difficult issues and getting involved in activism for causes they care about. They also publish creative writing, book reviews, and artwork. Check out the magazine at www.teenvoices.com.

Does your high school have a literary magazine? If not, why not start one? Also, beware of any contest or publication that requires a fee – there are a lot of scams out there that will publish your poem in their book ONLY if you buy the book. You deserve better than that.

Published in: on July 14, 2010 at 5:13 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/stuff-for-young-writers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for gathering and sharing these links. I’ll definitely be sharing them with my students this year!


Leave a Reply

