balancing act

I finally sat down with my draft on Saturday. This is the magical real YA novel that I’ve been working on for a few years now (yikes) and the character recently grew from age 13 to age 15, and got a whole lot more interesting back story. Anyhow, I had been taking a break and was feeling a bit daunted by my crazily-highlighted outline, complete with notes to add, fix, move, etc. But once I got over the dread of “ugh, page 1, again!” I got into the swing of things, and it was sort of exciting.

That said, I felt a curious inertia descending upon me throughout the day. Why not take a break from writing and take a drive to the market, as I had planned? What about cutting up a salad, or exercising, or reading that book that’s already due at the library, or cleaning up the office, or updating my blog? No, no, I’m busy writing. I’ll eat an apple and listen to some NPR, but then I’ll get back to writing. Once writing-brain is switched on, I’m completely distracted and unable to focus on other tasks. Or is this just my excuse for being lazy and stuck in my own head? Then again, what writer isn’t stuck in her own head?

Published in: on July 27, 2010 at 3:57 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/07/27/balancing-act/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

