more than one project at a time

As I write this, the oatmeal chocolate-chip cookies are baking in the oven. I needed a break from reading/revising my work-in-progress, and it is a gray and rainy day requiring cookies.

The cozying-up-with-my-new-outline plan hasn’t really happened. Instead I was inspired to review my primary work in progress (“primary” because I’ve been working on it the longest and I think it’s the farthest along) to submit to my writing group. They saw the opening pages recently and I’ve been encouraged (threatened, even) to send the rest and not wimp out as I’ve done in the past.

However, this has distracted me from my outlining of the new project. I don’t usually work this way, with more than one thing going on at once. It’s exciting to feel inspired and interested in more than one project – I suppose it’s nice to be able to take a break from one to work on another, but my brain doesn’t switch channels that easily. I was on the Tudor England channel for years, and I didn’t do any flipping around. As long as I can balance all of this with my busy full time job, all will be well (she says, laughing maniacally). But honestly, what are long commutes to work meant for if not for reading over ones novel-in-progress?

NOTE TO READERS: Never use a recipe for “low fat” cookies. Low fat cookies are dumb – the name itself an oxymoron and an insult to cookies everywhere. A rookie mistake, truly. Harumph.

Published in: on August 22, 2010 at 10:54 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/more-than-one-project-at-a-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

