crazy head

I’ve had three projects in the works this year, and lately it seems that I’m working on all three of them at the same time – specifically, writing one while getting critique of the other two. This feedback is fantastically helpful, but on Friday, crazy head was setting in: I can finish this outline on Saturday, sure I can. And then revise one novel in September (three weeks) and then revise the next one in October and then be ready for National Novel Writing Month in November. Right, right, right? Of course, I’m working full time and it’s extremely busy and I can’t really take much vacation time. Still, all of that will work. It must work, must must.

Lordy. I spent a full day working on the aforementioned outline, and managed to find a more reasonable headspace – talking about this with Tom helped a lot. I’ll finish the outline, then maybe take a brief break – long enough to read Mockingjay – and then start my revision, hopefully within the next couple weeks. The other novel, also awaiting revision, will have to wait a while longer.

It’s liberating to realize that I can’t do everything. This way I can have some time off from one book and start in on the one I’ve already been away from for a while.

Published in: on September 12, 2010 at 4:48 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alisamlibby.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/crazy-head/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

